Home  /  Everything Else: Article  /  Cathay Motion Picture Awards 2014 Top 15 Finalists Announced!

Cathay Motion Picture Awards 2014 Top 15 Finalists Announced!

By InCinemas  /  07 Jun 2014 (Saturday)
The top 15 short films have been selected for this year's Cathay Motion Picture Awards!

Vote for the best shortlisted film online and win attractive prizes!

15 teams will be making their debut as finalists to face the judging panel with their short films! Out of 111 submitted entries, these 15 teams emerged among the top, based
on three criteria – originality, production quality and entertainment value.
Participants were to submit a motion picture of 79 seconds that was created within 79 hours. This is in conjunction with Cathay Organisation’s 79th Anniversary this year. They had to adhere to the competition theme that was unveiled during the briefing session – “Sisters”; a nod to Our Sister Mambo, a film starring Michelle Chong and Moses Lim and specially produced by Cathay Organisation to commemorate its 80th anniversary in 2015.
The theme did not limit the participants’ creative minds as they showcased imaginative stories through their motion pictures – ranging from the recollection of fond memories to the paranormal and beyond.

From now till 9 June 2014, all 15 shortlisted films will undergo evaluation by a panel of judges. Cathay Organisation has invited esteemed members of the local film industry to sit on the judges’ panel for Cathay Motion Picture Awards 2014, namely:
1.    Chris Marsh, General Manager of Studio Entertainment, The Walt Disney Company South East Asia
2.    Ian Bailie, Production Designer
3.    John Lui, Senior Correspondent, The Straits Times
4.    Michelle Chong, Director/ Scriptwriter/ Producer/ Host/ Actress
5.    Nana Greenwald, Associate Dean and Director, Chapman University Singapore
6.    Shinho Lee, Screenwriter
The top three winners will be determined solely by the judges on three criteria – originality, production quality and entertainment value. The 15 motion pictures are also available for public voting and viewing via the official competition website (www.cmpa.com.sg) until 22 June 2014. The Viewer’s Choice award will be given to the motion picture with the highest number of public votes garnered through the website.
[Movie tickets up for grabs for lucky voters]
10 lucky voters who submit votes via the competition website will win a pair of Cathay Cineplexes movie vouchers and also exclusive invites to the Cathay Motion Picture Awards Night 2014. These selected voters will get to experience a high dosage of red-carpet glamour and rub shoulders with the participants and industry players!
The winner of the Best Motion Picture will take home $15,000 in cash – the largest cash prize for a filmmaking competition in Singapore, while the first and second runners-up will win $8,000 and $5,000 cash respectively. All participants from the top three winners and the Viewers’ Choice award will receive an exclusive Cathay VIP card worth more than $4,000. With the card, each member of the team will be able to watch free movies at Cathay Cineplexes for a year. These winning entries will also be screened on Cathay Cineplexes’ circuit for a period of eight weeks in 2015 – helping to realise the aspiring filmmakers’ dreams of watching their own productions on the silver screen.
The four winners – Best Motion Picture, First Runner-Up, Second Runner-Up and Viewers’ Choice award – will be announced at an awards ceremony on 18 July 2014, which is also Cathay’s anniversary date.
You say

Get Showtimes