Home  /  Everything Else: Article  /  Check Out the Winners of the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards!

Check Out the Winners of the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards!

By Chen Shun  /  06 Jun 2020 (Saturday)

Last night, the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards was attended by a star-studded lineup! Sadly, the annual event was held without an audience due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation. Shin Dong-yup, Suzy and Park Bo-gum served as the event MCs for the third consecutive year.

The cast of When the Camellia Blooms came together to celebrate when the MC announced that it won the Grand Prize.

For the television portion of the awards, the Grand Prize went to When the Camellia Blooms, while the cast members took home the Best Actor (Kang Ha-neul) and Best Supporting Actor (Oh Jeng-se) awards. The drama also won Best Screenplay.

The competition for the Best Actress is the toughest this year but actress Kim Hee-ae took home the trophy in the end for her work in The World of the Married.

To no surprise, the Grand Prize for the film category went to director Bong Joon-ho for the international hit, Parasite. The critically-acclaimed film also won the Best Film award for the night. The director himself wasn't present to accept his award but he had a representative who came up to the stage to convey his message:

It is an honour to be ending at the film festival journey at the Baeksang after a long journey that began in May of last year at Cannes.

The Best Actor award in the film category went to Lee Byung-hun for his work in The Man Standing Next, while the Best Actress award went to Jeon Do-yeon for her work for Birthday

Check out the full winners' list below:


Grand Prize: KBS2’s When the Camellia Blooms
Best Drama: SBS’s Stove League
Best Cultural Program: EBS’s Giant Peng TV
Best Director: Mo Wan-il (The World of the Married)
Best Actor: Kang Ha-neul (When the Camellia Blooms)
Best Actress: Kim Hee-ae (The World of the Married)
Best Supporting Actor: Oh Jung-se (When the Camellia Blooms)
Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sun-young (Crash Landing on You)
Best New Actor: Ahn Hyo-seop (Dr. Romantic 2)
Best New Actress: Kim Da-mi (Itaewon Class)
Best Screenplay: Lim Sang-chun (When the Camellia Blooms)
Technical Award (Art): Jang Yeon-ok (The Great Escape 3)

Variety and Popularity

Best Variety Show: TV Chosun’s Mister Trot
Best Male Variety Star: Yoo Jae-suk (How Do You Play?)
Best Female Variety Star: Park Na-rae (Home Alone)
Bazaar Icon Award: Seo Ji-hye (Crash Landing on You)
TikTok Popularity Award: Hyun Bin And Son Yejin (Crash Landing on You)


Grand Prize: Bong Joon-ho (Parasite)
Best Film: Parasite
Best Director: Kim Bo-ra (House of Hummingbird)
Best Screenplay: Lee Sang-geum (Exit)
Best New Director: Kim Do-young (Kim Ji Young, Born 1982)
Best Actor: Lee Byung-hun (The Man Standing Next)
Best Actress: Jeon Do-yeon (Birthday)
Best Supporting Actor: Lee Kwang-soo (Inseperable Bros)
Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sae-byuk (House of Hummingbird)
Best New Actor: Park Myung-hoon (Parasite)
Best New Actress: Kang Mal-geum (Lucky Chan-Sil)
Technical Award (Makeup): Kim Seo-hee (The Man Standing Next)


Baeksang Play Award: Shin Yoo-chung (Scorched Love)
Best Short Play: 0set Project
Best Actor: Baek Seok-gwang (Wife)
Best Actress: Kim Jung (Rotterdam)

Congratulations to all the winners!
You say

Get Showtimes