Home  /  Everything Else: Article  /  2021 Academy Awards Winners' List

2021 Academy Awards Winners' List

By Rachelle  /  26 Apr 2021 (Monday)

Hollywood's biggest night honouring the film industry's finest from the past 12 months has finally come and gone!

Here is the full list of the winners (in bold) from the 93rd Academy Awards:
Best Picture
The Father
Judas and the Black Messiah
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round
David Fincher – Mank
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Actor
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Riz Ahmed - Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Gary Oldman - Mank
Steven Yeun - Minari

Best Actress
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Andra Day – The United States vs Billie Holiday
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Leslie Odom Jr – One Night in Miami
Paul Raci – Sound of Metal
Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best Supporting Actress Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy
Olivia Colman – The Father
Amanda Seyfried – Mank

Best Original Screenplay
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Will Berson, Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas – Judas and the Black Messiah
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance – Sound of Meta
Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Adapted Screenplay
Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller – The Father
Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
Kemp Powers – One Night in Miami
Ramin Bahrani – The White Tiger

Best Animated Feature Soul
Over the Moon
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Best Documentary Feature
My Octopus Teacher – Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster
Collective – Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana
Crip Camp – Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder
The Mole Agent – Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez
Time – Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Best International Feature
Another Round (Denmark)
Better Days (Hong Kong)
Collective (Romania)
The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best Original Song "Fight For You" – Judas and the Black Messiah (H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas)
"Hear My Voice" – The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite)
"Husavik" – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson)
"Io Si (Seen)" – The Life Ahead [La Vita Davanti a Se] (Diane Warren and Laura Pausini)
"Speak Now" – One Night in Miami... (Leslie Odom, Jr and Sam Ashworth)

Best Original Score
Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste
Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard
Mank – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
Minari – Emile Mosseri
News of the World – James Newton Howard

Best Cinematography
Erik Messerschmidt – Mank
Sean Bobbitt – Judas and the Black Messiah
Dariusz Wolski – News of the World
Joshua James Richards – Nomadland
Phedon Papamichael – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Visual Effects
Tenet – Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher
Love and Monsters – Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox
The Midnight Sky – Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins
Mulan – Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram
The One and Only Ivan – Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher

Best Film Editing
Mikkel EG Nielsen – Sound of Metal
Yorgos Lamprinos – The Father
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
Frédéric Thoraval – Promising Young Woman
Alan Baumgarten – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Costume Design
Ann Roth – Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Alexandra Byrne – Emma
Trish Summerville – Mank
Bina Daigeler – Mulan
Massimo Cantini Parrini – Pinocchio

Best Sound
Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh
Greyhound – Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman
Mank – Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin
News of the World – Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett
Soul – Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

Best Production Design
Mank – Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale
The Father – Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom – Mark Ricker, Karen O'Hara and Diana Stoughton
News of the World – David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan
Tenet – Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas

Best Make-up and Hairstyling
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson
Emma – Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze
Hillbilly Elegy – Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney
Mank – Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff
Pinocchio – Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti

Best Live-Action Short
Two Distant Strangers – Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe
Feeling Through – Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski
The Letter Room – Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan
The Present – Farah Nabulsi
White Eye – Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman

Best Animated Short
If Anything Happens I Love You – Will McCormack and Michael Govier
Burrow – Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat
Genius Loci – Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise
Opera – Erick Oh
Yes-People – Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson

Best Documentary Short
Colette – Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard
A Concerto is a Conversation – Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers
Do Not Split – Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook
Hunger Ward – Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman
A Love Song for Latasha – Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan

Congrats to all winners!
You say

Get Showtimes