Home  /  Everything Else: Article  /  The Full List of Winners at the 2020 Emmy Awards

The Full List of Winners at the 2020 Emmy Awards

By Rachelle  /  21 Sep 2020 (Monday)

From Schitt's Creek sweeping the awards in the Comedy Series category to Zendaya being the Emmy's youngest winner ever, the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards was a night of numerous firsts. After a most unconventional awards season, the Emmys finally took place. The show was held virtually for the first time and was hosted by Jimmy Kimmel.

Here’s the full winners list:

Drama Series

“Better Call Saul” (AMC)
“The Crown” (Netflix)
“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Hulu)
“Killing Eve” (BBC America/AMC)
“The Mandalorian” (Disney Plus)
“Ozark” (Netflix)
“Stranger Things” (Netflix)
Succession” (HBO) (WINNER)

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”)
Steve Carell (“The Morning Show”)
Brian Cox (“Succession”)
Billy Porter (“Pose”)
Jeremy Strong (“Succession”) (WINNER)


Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Jennifer Aniston (“The Morning Show”)
Olivia Colman (“The Crown”)
Jodie Comer (“Killing Eve”)
Laura Linney (“Ozark”)
Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”)
Zendaya (“Euphoria”) (WINNER)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Laura Dern (“Big Little Lies”)
Meryl Streep (“Big Little Lies”)
Helena Bonham Carter (“The Crown”)
Samira Wiley (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)
Fiona Shaw (“Killing Eve”)
Julia Garner (“Ozark”) (WINNER)
Sarah Snook (“Succession”)
Thandie Newton (“Westworld”)


Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Giancarlo Esposito (“Better Call Saul”)
Bradley Whitford (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)
Billy Crudup (“The Morning Show”) (WINNER)
Mark Duplass (“The Morning Show”)
Nicholas Braun (“Succession”)
Kieran Culkin (“Succession”)
Matthew Macfadyen (“Succession”)
Jeffrey Wright (“Westworld”)


Directing for a Drama Series

Benjamin Caron “The Crown,” “Aberfan” (Netflix)
Jessica Hobbs “The Crown,” “Cri de Coeur” (Netflix)
Lesli Linka Glatter “Homeland,” “Prisoners of War” (Showtime)
Mimi Leder “The Morning Show,” “The Interview” (Apple TV Plus)
Alik Sakharov “Ozark,” “Fire Pink” (Netflix)
Ben Semanoff “Ozark,” “Su Casa Es Mi Casa” (Netflix)
Andrij Parekh "Succession," "Hunting" (HBO) (WINNER)
Mark Mylod “Succession,” “This Is Not for Tears” (HBO)


Writing for a Drama Series

Thomas Schnauz “Better Call Saul,” “Bad Choice Road” (AMC)
Gordon Smith “Better Call Saul,” “Bagman” (AMC)
Peter Morgan “The Crown,” “Aberfan” (Netflix)
Chris Mundy “Ozark,” “All In” (Netflix)
John Shiban “Ozark,” “Boss Fight” (Netflix)
Miki Johnson “Ozark,” “Fire Pink” (Netflix)
Jesse Armstrong "Succession," "This Is Not for Tears" (HBO) (WINNER)


Limited Series

“Little Fires Everywhere” (Hulu)
“Mrs. America” (Hulu)
“Unbelievable” (Netflix)
“Unorthodox” (Netflix)
Watchmen” (HBO) (WINNER)

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Jeremy Irons (“Watchmen”)
Hugh Jackman (“Bad Education”)
Paul Mescal (“Normal People”)
Jeremy Pope (“Hollywood”)
Mark Ruffalo (“I Know This Much Is True”) (WINNER)


Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Cate Blanchett (“Mrs. America”)
Shira Haas (“Unorthodox”)
Regina King (“Watchmen”) (WINNER)
Octavia Spencer (“Self Made”)
Kerry Washington (“Little Fires Everywhere”)


Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Holland Taylor (“Hollywood”)
Uzo Aduba (“Mrs. America”) (WINNER)
Margo Martindale (“Mrs. America”)
Tracey Ullman (“Mrs. America”)
Toni Collette (“Unbelievable”)
Jean Smart (“Watchmen”)

Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Dylan McDermott (“Hollywood”)
Jim Parsons (“Hollywood”)
Tituss Burgess (“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. the Reverend”)
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (“Watchmen”) (WINNER)
Jovan Adepo (“Watchmen”)
Louis Gossett Jr. (“Watchmen”)


Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special

“Little Fires Everywhere,” “Find a Way” (Hulu)
Lynn Shelton
“Normal People,” “Episode 5” (Hulu)
Lenny Abrahamson
Maria Schrader "Unorthodox" (Netflix) (WINNER)
“Watchmen,” “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice” (HBO)
Nicole Kassell
“Watchmen,” “Little Fear of Lightning” (HBO)
Steph Green
“Watchmen,” “This Extraordinary Being” (HBO)
Stephen Williams


Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special

“Mrs. America,” “Shirley” (FX Networks)
Tanya Barfield
“Normal People,” “Episode 3” (Hulu)
Sally Rooney and Alice Birch
“Unbelievable,” “Episode 1” (Netflix)
Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman
“Unorthodox,” “Part 1” (Netflix)
Anna Winger
Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson "Watchmen," "This Extraordinary Being" (HBO) (WINNER)

Comedy Series

“Curb Your Enthusiasm” (HBO)
“Dead to Me” (Netflix)
“The Good Place” (NBC)
“Insecure” (HBO)
“The Kominsky Method” (Netflix)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Schitt’s Creek” (Pop TV) (WINNER)
“What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)


Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”)
Don Cheadle (“Black Monday”)
Ted Danson (“The Good Place”)
Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”)
Eugene Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)
Ramy Youssef (“Ramy”)


Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Christina Applegate (“Dead to Me”)
Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Linda Cardellini (“Dead to Me”)
Catherine O’Hara (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER) 
Issa Rae (“Insecure”)
Tracee Ellis Ross (“Black-ish”)


Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Betty Gilpin (“GLOW”)
D’Arcy Carden (“The Good Place”)
Yvonne Orji (“Insecure”)
Alex Borstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Marin Hinkle (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Kate McKinnon (“Saturday Night Live”)
Cecily Strong (“Saturday Night Live”)
Annie Murphy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)


Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Andre Braugher (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”)
William Jackson Harper (“The Good Place”)
Alan Arkin (“The Kominsky Method”)
Sterling K. Brown (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Tony Shalhoub (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Mahershala Ali (“Ramy”)
Kenan Thompson (“Saturday Night Live”)
Dan Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”) (WINNER)


Directing for a Comedy Series

Matt Shakman “The Great,” “The Great” [Pilot] (Hulu)
Amy Sherman-Palladino “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “It’s Comedy or Cabbage” (Prime Video)
Daniel Palladino “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Marvelous Radio” (Prime Video)
Gail Mancuso “Modern Family,” “Finale Part 2” (ABC)
Ramy Youssef “Ramy,” “Miakhalifa.mov” (Hulu)
Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy "Schitt’s Creek," "Happy Ending" (Pop TV) (WINNER)
James Burrows “Will & Grace,” “We Love Lucy” (NBC)


Writing for a Comedy Series

Michael Schur “The Good Place,” “Whenever You’re Ready” (NBC)
Tony McNamara “The Great,” “The Great” (Hulu)
Daniel Levy "Schitt’s Creek," "Happy Ending" (Pop TV) (WINNER)
David West Read “Schitt’s Creek,” “The Presidential Suite” (Pop TV)
Sam Johnson and Chris Marcil “What We Do in the Shadows,” “Collaboration” (FX Networks)
Paul Simms “What We Do in the Shadows,” “Ghosts” (FX Networks)
Stefani Robinson “What We Do in the Shadows,” “On the Run” (FX Networks)


Variety Talk Series

“Daily Show With Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
“Full Frontal With Samantha Bee” (TBS)
“Jimmy Kimmel Live” (ABC)
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO) (WINNER)
“Late Show With Stephen Colbert” (CBS)


Competition Program

“The Masked Singer” (Fox)
“Nailed It!” (Netflix)
"RuPaul’s Drag Race" (VH1) (WINNER)
“Top Chef” (Bravo)
“The Voice” (NBC)

Congrats to all the winners! We're gonna go rewatch some of your winning work now. 
You say

Get Showtimes